Yummy Desserts

Check this article out on my new blog instead.

Looking for a tasty summer dessert for this weekend? Why not try Kiefer’s?

Peach ginger shortbread topped with melba sauce and homemade whipped cream

If you’re keeping up with the celebrity competition, I believe it’s a tie between Brad Pitt and Kiefer Sutherland. I counted votes from Facebook as well as comments from previous posts. Okay, I’ll spill the beans, Kiefer is my husband Eric and he’s making the shortbread again next weekend. Yipee! Lucky me. If you’re in the Cape, stop by, I’ll share. Maybe.

The rest of the celebrities true husband identities must remain hidden to protect them from husbands who don’t cook. As for Eric, well he’s been getting pretty buff lately. I’m sure he’ll be fine. In fact when I told him I was turning him into Kiefer Sutherland for my posts, he gave me his wry little smile and said, “I can take him.” To which I replied, “I’m sure you can, honey.” Have you seen 24?

Back to the desserts. Brad Pitt wowed us with two incredible peach desserts. There was the souffle.

Peach souffle with powdered sugar and chocolate sauce

And introducing: Gare Bears Peach Cobbler Wedges.

Gare Bear's Peach Cobbler Wedges with vanilla ice-cream

When I asked Brad how he made them, he rattled off ingredients and steps (many steps) so fast I didn’t get it all down. I do know the recipe included eggs, flour, cinnamon sugar, and panko bread crumbs. It was the perfect combination of warm, cold, and crunchy. Boy, I would make a terrific food critic!

Well, when John Travolta saw three desserts sitting in front of him he decided to throw in the towel. He was out of the competition. Ashton Kutcher refused to give up and presented us with peach cake and homemade whipped cream.

I believe I listened to the words “I’m so full” about a hundred million times. We glanced at the clock and realized we had been eating for four hours! Suddenly, there was a scratching at the door. Our host went to investigate and returned with the clean-up crew.

Peachy and Keen

Surprise, their names aren’t really Peachy and Keen. I write fiction in my spare time. But I won’t be writing any fiction this weekend because I’ll be too busy dancing and celebrating the fact that school starts on Monday. Just kidding. I love having my kids at home. This weekend I’ll be sitting on a bench in the shade while the rest of my family rides Sheikra, Gwazi, Kumba, and some new Cheetah ride at Busch Gardens. This blog mama does not do rollercoasters.

Have a wonderful weekend and if you see a post you enjoy, please share it with your friends.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ClassiclyAmber
    Aug 20, 2011 @ 10:07:28

    Looks so yum~!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

