Great Labor Day Dessert!

Yum diddy, Yum diddy, Yum, Yum, Yum!

Here is the perfect dessert to bring to a Labor Day picnic. I was exaggerating a bit in the last post when I said I could eat the whole pan. It seems I had forgotten just how big and heavy the pan was.

It’s called the Democratic Dessert. It has another name, BTS. The B and the T stand for Better Than and I’ll let you guess what the S stands for. If you’re thinking squash, you’re right-absolutely right. (I’m shaking my head no as I type.)

Before I get to the ingredients, I’ll give you a couple Labor Day facts so you can impress everyone at the picnic. The first Labor Day was celebrated on Tuesday September 5, 1882 in New York City. By 1885 Labor Day was celebrated across the country. Then on June 28th 1894 Congress passed an act making Labor Day a legal holiday. It was to be celebrated the first Monday of each September with families gathering for speeches, parades and chocolate pie eating contests. Okay, I added the chocolate. The speeches and parades part was true.

Ingredients:
1 Cup Flour
1/2 Cup Butter
1 Cup Chopped Pecans
8 Ounces Cream Cheese
1 Cup Powdered Sugar
Lg. Cool Whip
Med. Cool Whip
2 3oz. Boxes Chocolate Pudding
4 Cups Milk (Use to make pudding)
Glazed Pecans, Coconut, M&M’s, (Whatever you want to sprinkle on top. The possibilities are endless… jimmies, chocolate bits, crumbled Oreos…

Step 1: Make the pudding. I haven’t made pudding from the box in years and when I saw how much pudding comes from two little boxes, I realized I’ve been spending too much on those little convenient plastic containers.

Add some gummi worms and crushed Oreos and it's a bowl-o-dirt!

Step 2: Mix the chopped pecans, butter and flour together.

Step 3: Press the mixture in a thin layer on the bottom of a 9×13 pan and bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes.

Step 4: Mix the cream cheese and powdered sugar together and then fold in the large container of Cool Whip.

Step 5: Pour all that sugary deliciousness onto the cooled crust.

Step 6: Add the chocolate pudding. I happen to notice on my scribbled recipe from who knows when, that I had written mix two and half cups of milk with the two boxes of pudding. Hmm. It was too late. I thought I was being super organized and I made the pudding ahead of time with four cups of milk. I can tell you the four cups worked fine but it’s probably even more chocolatey with two and half cups.

Step 7: As I gazed upon this masterpiece, I had a moment of brilliance. If I only had some Butterfinger pieces or chopped up Toblerone, I’d add it on top of the chocolate pudding for pure texture satisfaction. Smooth with a bit a crunch. Alas, my cupboard was bare of candy bars so I reached for the last container of Cool Whip. (Med. sized) Spread it on top and sprinkled glazed pecans from end to end.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Shannon Zimmerman
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 19:07:41

    Holy cow! This looks incredible. Nice job capturing the steps by photo. Enjoy your blog thoroughly, KD. Keep it up. Though crumb cakes are my ‘business,’ I just may try this recipe as a labor day dessert.
    - Shannon, Crumb Cake Creations, LLC

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Chicks Write

Get it Write this Summer!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

