Obama, Obama, Obama!

I happened to mention at our Wednesday breakfast that Obama was coming to Sarasota. Elena’s daughter Allie LOVES Obama. She has watched all the debates, invested in a life size cardboard cut out, collected pins, and had an OBAMA 2008 cake for her birthday. I wasn’t surprised when Elena said, “road-trip!”

We packed my car with food and kids and left at 6:00 am Thursday for Sarasota. Allie brought five jackets to brave our cold Florida weather!

        Josh? Where are you? I know you were in the car too. You must be studying your AP History….good boy.

The excitement built as we approached the stadium and not just because Elena was having fun teasing me about my driving. We were in the midst of  thousands of Obama supporters.

Me driving safely.

A humongous line of people stretched endlessly through the parking lot, out to the street and back around to the front of the stadium. Here’s one good thing about wheelchairs. We didn’t have to wait in that line. But to everyone who watches a person in a wheelchair go to the front of the line,believe me when I tell you they would happily wait rather then be in that chair…      Now, back to the trip:)

We were given several different seats and eventually all the volunteers agreed with our placement behind the baseball net. I don’t know why. I suppose because we were early they wanted to make sure they had enough handicapped seating. We waited and warmed up. Some young teens led the crowd in doing the wave. We watched as moreand more people entered the stadium. 
There’s Josh and his essay.

Obama’s jet flew by the stadium. The crowd went wild. I couldn’t believe how many people came to hear him speak. After-all, I moved here from California thirteen years ago. I was beginning to think Elena and I were the only two Democrats in the Cape. Now, all that has changed!

 
There he is! (Look in between the squares)

 I’m going to see if Elena had a better zoom on her camera.

Allie was so excited tears flowed down her face. The day brought something special to all of us even Kai who I had to bribe a little to get to join us.(Thanks Jones soda) What can I say, my son loves school and didn’t want to miss. Kai left asking many good questions about our government and the process of electing a President. It’s hard to believe that in 2012, Josh, Allie and Arielle will be able to vote.

Wait! There’s more! We figured since we were at a stadium we may as well tailgate. While everyone sat in traffic leaving the parking lot we sat on the grass and ate peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. Oh and listened to the ice cream truck play the same song over and over and over again. What were those creative lyrics of yours Elena?

                      


Here we are after the crowds left. We secretly hoped Barack Obama would come out and surprise us.
         Here’s the famous podium.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ptsd101
    Nov 01, 2008 @ 06:32:44

    It sounds great. And I envy you! 🙂

    Reply

  2. seaheidi
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 16:35:50

    Awesome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

The Picture Book Review

Picture book reviews, reviews of books with pictures, and pictures of books!

