Change

I’m sitting here writing because I must. I can’t explain it. I hear my friends saying, “Krista, you’re leaving for Miami today and you’re not packed?” Here’s me…”Oh, there’s plenty of time. I’ll get it all done:)”

Jan 6th I started my crusade to help my daughter become a member of her high school track team. I was amazed at how difficult it was to break through the barriers of change. In my mind of course people would do the right thing. We weren’t asking for more than allowing Arielle to be on the team,wear a uniform, and race alone against her own time. I would transport her to the away meets and no money would have to be spent on a bus with a lift. Imagine my surprise when suddenly my emails and phone calls were received with trepidation and formal statements claiming the district would follow specific rules set by the FHSAA. I wrote to the kind people at the Christopher Reeve Foundation and told them I felt like a sardine swimming with piranhas. They responded immediately with kind words and support.

I emailed and called everyone I could think of who could help me advocate for my daughter. I kept precise notes on all my conversations and emails. I asked for help on Facebook and received positive feedback from others who believed Elle had a right to be on the team. I can’t describe what it feels like to listen to someone tell you that your child can not even wear the team uniform. I felt the pain of being different. I felt the isolation of calling out for change. I felt the heartache of a mother who wants her child to have the same opportunities as all children.

I sat alone and breathed. I pictured my daughter smiling and racing as a member of her track team.I listened to the silence. I found my strength from within and knew that others were sitting and standing behind me. Yesterday I received a phone call from the principal. Elle would be allowed on the team. She would be allowed to race against her own time at home meets and only at away meets if the individual schools agreed. One phone call…my crusade was over. I took off my armour. I hugged my daughter.We cried. We learned.

Leave a Reply

The Picture Book Review

Picture book reviews, reviews of books with pictures, and pictures of books!

