What a Great Day!

For everyone who thought I couldn’t do it,
For everyone who thought I shouldn’t do it,
For everyone who said I didn’t have it in me,
See you at the finish line…..

-Sign posted in Christopher Reeve’s exercise room

This came in a packet that was emailed to me last week with specific instructions that it was EMBARGOED until today. Today the Reeve Foundation released their study that shows there are over five million people in the US. living with paralysis. One million two hundred seventy five thousand have spinal cord injuries. Spinal cord injuries are the second largest cause of paralysis. Stroke is the leading cause at 29%.

Why is this important information? There is strength in numbers! Where there is strength, there is positive change. I tearfully watched the conference in Washington where the study was released to the press. With all my heart I thank the Christopher and Dana Reeve Foundation for their efforts in recognizing, caring, and taking action for those with paralysis.

And why did I receive this packet last week ……look on page 23!
K.D.Rausin

Leave a Reply

The Picture Book Review

Picture book reviews, reviews of books with pictures, and pictures of books!

