Growing Up

The house has been too quiet. One of my children is missing. (The noisy one)I keep walking past her room wanting to open the door and talk to her and then remembering she’s not there. There is a peace knowing she is having a wonderful time at camp and seeing life in a different light. There is also an emptiness and a constant nagging at my heart knowing she is far away and in three short years she will be going off to college. I’ll be left walking past her empty room, counting the days until she returns home and wondering if I did everything I could to prepare her to be on her own. Hoping she knows I’d be by her side in a second if she needed me.

It took a long time for me to realize that children grow in phases. When they were little it seemed as though the chores were endless and life was standing still. I guess it took immersing myself in work for five years to make me open my eyes and see how they changed and how I was missing out on truly knowing them. This past year I devoted myself to them once again as I did when they were little. Perhaps it was all the time I spent with my grandparents that taught me, I have a lifetime for me, but only a few precious years at home with my children before they go off and follow their own path.

K.D.Rausin


2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tsd_writer
    Jul 11, 2009 @ 18:11:24

    You and your daughter look like sisters šŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

The Picture Book Review

Reviews of Children's Board Books, Picture Books, Activity Books, and Graphic Novels

