Moments

Moments

My grandmother always had a camera in her hand. Thanks to her example the habit has been passed down to my mother, me and several cousins. We love taking pictures.

This year as I received many beautiful holiday cards with family portraits it came to my attention that we never created time for our family picture. I went to the computer and searched through files of this past year, trying to find the perfect three or four pictures to incorporate into a card. This seemed much easier than getting everyone dressed up, finding a location, and hoping we could remember how to set the timer on the camera. As I looked at picture after picture I realized how many brought forth dialogue and feelings from the exact moment it was taken. My quick search ended two hours later and my list of pictures for our card filled half a page. This is why my grandmother always had a camera in her hand. She wanted to capture those moments that brought feelings reminding her of the life she was living, the journey she was on, pictures that captured more than an image but a memory of what it means to be alive.

Here are a few of those moments that have special meaning to me.

Happy Holidays and may this new year bring many moments worth capturing, sharing and cherishing for years to come.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sherrie
    Dec 23, 2010 @ 16:58:10

    I don’t know any family that takes as many pictures as ours does. It’s a very contagious hobby. Even Alli likes to pose herself and others for pictures already. I consider my pictures my most valuable possession.

    Reply

  2. kdrausin
    Dec 23, 2010 @ 20:05:23

    I loved seeing the picture of great grandfather Titus in his horse and buggy on Landis Ave. It is a good thing that our family takes lots of pictures. Memories and history.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

The Picture Book Review

Reviews of Children's Board Books, Picture Books, Activity Books, and Graphic Novels

