The Salt Life Birthday

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Celebrating birthdays in the Rausin house can be a complicated matter. We have Arielle who likes huge celebrations with lots of people and loud music. Kai who is never quite sure if he wants a party until a week before the actual date. Me who refuses to acknowledge that I’m any older than twenty-seven and tells Eric (husband) that it’s too stressful to give b-day gift ideas. I really don’t need or want anything except maybe a writing conference sometime in the future.( They’re expensive.) And then there’s Eric…

It’s almost as if he magically turns into a little boy every June 14th. I start sweating around May 14th because I know the pressure is on. His birthday cannot be just an ordinary low key day. It must include a “wow!” factor. Being the crafty person that I am, this year I suggested he go skydiving and we watch from the ground. I would take pictures. Nope, not good enough. It had to be a family activity.

Not long after, Eric was at Publix and a van pulled up beside him. Painted on the side of the van was a giant picture of a man windsurfing. Eric knew it was kismet and he made the reservation.

June 14th was a success! We drove to the Sanibel Causeway and I was reminded that we live in paradise. Arielle and I kayaked while Eric and Kai took windsurfing lessons. Of course I had my camera.

Thank goodness Eric insists on unusual birthdays. He reminds us all to step out of our routines and breathe in the salt life.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sherrie
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 14:53:36

    Cool pictures! Looks like fun. Hope Eric got my ecard.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

The Picture Book Review

Reviews of Children's Board Books, Picture Books, Activity Books, and Graphic Novels

