Stalking Daniel Radcliffe

This post can also be found on my new blog. Kdrausin.com/blog/

Last week was Harry Potter week. Picture me curled up on the couch, Kai lounging in the chair next to me, lights dimmed, watching a Harry Potter movie every night. Meanwhile, Arielle was stalking Daniel Radcliffe in New York City. It worked. I received a text while watching the Half Blood Prince, with this picture and several hundred OMG!’s

Individually autograhed PLAYBILLS

The Universe works in wonderous ways and that little autographed picture led to four very big smiles.

THANK YOU! to Mr. Radcliffe’s bodyguard who made sure Arielle did not get trampled in the crowd waiting to get a glimpse of the star after his, How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying,  performance. This mom is very grateful for your protection of her daughter.

Midnight movie openings are our family tradition but this month two of our family members were in different states. So, we picked up a friend and Kai and I went to see a double feature. Deathly Hallows part one followed by Deathly Hallows part two at midnight.

Harry Potter look-a-likes

With our Harry Potter adventures behind us we raced to the airport to pick up Arielle. While waiting we spotted this…

Jets Playing Chicken

And she’s home after three weeks at Columbia University’s summer camp for high school students. She met teens from all over the world and loved her Urban Studies class.  

We celebrated by eating at CPK because eating my cooking would not be celebrating.

When Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone was published in 1998 these were the two beautiful faces I saw every day.

They grew up with J. K. Rowling’s marvelous characters and stories. Just as Harry Potter will live on forever in the hearts of millions, so will my memories of rushing to the bookstore, costumes with robes and wands, and midnight movies. Time insists we say good-bye  but every experience we have whether it’s a camp, a series of books, or a childhood, prepares us for our next great adventure!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sherrie
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 07:10:06

    You have the best adventures. I hope my grandkids get into the whole series when they are older. I’m planning to see the movies some day too.
    I’m so glad to hear that Arielle had a positive New York experience.

    Reply

  2. Renee
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 15:59:16

    I know it’s totally against some kind of human code, but I haven’t read a single Harry Potter book. I’ve seen a couple of the movies, but that’s it. It’s not that I don’t want to read the books and see the movies, I just haven’t gotten around to it. I was thinking of opening up the books once the baby comes in a month. Maybe it will be my nursing series

    Reply

    • kdrausin
      Jul 20, 2011 @ 16:51:01

      How exciting that you have a baby coming next month. Congratulations!
      I used to play music and read aloud to my kids when I was pregnant. Maybe you could begin reading the series now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

The Picture Book Review

Picture book reviews, reviews of books with pictures, and pictures of books!

